Categories
Uncategorized

The Valentine’s Day gift.

When we first started dating, Josh told me he was not a card and flowers kind of guy. I laughed and said that was fine, because I would just take his wallet and buy myself something.

It turned out he kind of became a card and flowers kind of guy. Not every time, but more often than not!

However, we had quite a hilarious Valentine’s Day once. Retroactively speaking, of course. I decided to get him a little tray I found that would go on the side of the couch and sit in front of him, so he didn’t have to balance a tray on his knees.

It wasn’t great quality. But I liked the idea of it and thought he would too. I was wrong. Not only did he not like it, but if you want to get an idea what his personality was like, and therefore, understand why his kids have the personalities they have, this was his reaction:

“What the fuck is that supposed to be!?”

I can’t remember what else he said, because I was busy taking the gift, the chocolates, and the balloon and trying to stuff the helium filled balloon into the trashcan so that it would stay.

No this was not one of the only two times he apologized to me in his life. Or probably to anyone. Those are stories for another day. But this was definitely a prize-winning moment in our relationship.

Similar to when he wanted some cash and we didn’t have any, so he asked what happened to the money. I got out the check register to tell him where the bills have been paid and he told me not to play number games with him.

🧐

I asked if I was supposed to explain using the alphabet, because I was unsure how I could explain where money goes without using numbers. He was not amused. oddly, I was. Which didn’t go over very well.

But it sure makes a funny story now! I’m sure he’s laughing from heaven. ♥️

By Gladys D. Smith-Mangan

I’m a 47 year old mom to 3 kids and grandma to one, a military brat, a music lover, a widow, and an involuntarily retired attorney who got smacked with the most sarcastic and ridiculous disease on earth, completely changing the future I had worked so hard for, and the plans I had for myself and my family. I have a 26 year old stepdaughter who has my 8 year old granddaughter, along with my 21 year old daughter and the baby, my 12 year old, who I’m thankful has grown up just in the right times that my illness doesn’t put her in danger.

My condition, Churg Strauss Syndrome (CSS), or Eosinophilic Granulomatosis with Polyangitis (EGPA), as it is currently called, is sarcastic and ironic, just like I am. It is an autoimmune vasculitis that causes inflammation, and one of the primary symptoms is an intolerance to nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID’s). And that irony and sarcasm just carries on throughout the entire journey. One thing it is not: boring.

It is diagnosed in only one to two out of every million people, and was featured on the fifth episode of House MD, if that tells you anything about how rare it is. It is most evident for me in the way it made my asthma go from completely controlled to uncontrolled, no matter what we do.
I’m currently on a low dose of chemo and a biologic in addition to prednisone, and trying to wean off.

My previous life was being a family law attorney. I try to assuage my guilt about my daughter not seeing me as a professional working woman by volunteering as much as I can.

People always tell me I should write more, so here we are. Maybe my escapades can make somebody else laugh, or make someone feel less alone if they are dealing with similar circumstances. If nothing else, it will be something for my kids to be able to read later in life to remember who I was.

Until then, I plan to live the hell out of every single day I am given. And laugh as much as I can, when it won’t cause an asthma/coughing fit. I truly believe laughter is the best medicine. (When it doesn’t cause a deadly asthma attack.)

Leave a comment